A Love Letter for the Rest of Us


Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!  In honor of today I’m bringing you a very special Guest Blog Post from Kate Scott the author of the recently released Counting to D.  Check out my review HERE after enjoying her insights!

A Love Letter for the Rest of Us

By Kate Scott

The first year we were married, my husband gave me the best Valentine’s gift ever: a bouquet of flours. He bought mini bags of all different kinds of flour (whole wheat, cornmeal, cake, barley, etc.) and arranged them in a very artistic display. Since I’m dyslexic, he figured I wouldn’t know the difference between flours and flowers, and the flours had the added bonus of being tasty later.

Yeah, I know. My husband is adorable. And I also know, sometimes, a bouquet of flours is actually better than a bouquet of flowers. Even if I can’t spell either one.

This year, I decided to give a Valentine’s gift of my own. Not just to my husband, but to all the people in the world who can’t distinguish a flour from a flower. That gift is my book, Counting to D, a young adult novel that has a sweet “floury” romance.

The main character, Sam, is dyslexic. She’s a brilliant young woman who can barely read. Her life is a mess, but it’s still her life. She experiences all the thoughts, fears, and emotions that teenagers face—including love.

The relationship between Sam and Nate was so much fun for me to write because they are the type of people I always want to be around. If I were a student at Kennedy High School, I’d want to be best friends with Sam and Nate, which is funny because they’re both outsiders. But even if neither of them knows exactly where they fit in, they still fit together.

Counting to D is not a cheesy romance about perfect, beautiful people finding their “happy ever after.” It’s a book about real teens with real issues, who depend on each other and are stronger as a result. That’s what love is. Not just on Valentine’s Day, but every day.

So if you can’t tell the difference between a flour and a flower, Counting to D is my love letter to you. If you love to read, but tend to struggle with talking to real live people, Counting to D is for you, too. Counting to D is for all the real teens, and former teens, who fail to conform to stereotypes and aren’t quite sure where they belong as a result.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

While Counting to D is not available at Hallmark, you can buy it at Amazon or Barnes & Noble.

Leave a Reply

