An update


No excuses, just an update.

I am working with another teacher to start a school library.  Our school services students from age 5 to 22.  We are a school for emotionally disturbed and cognitively delayed students though some do read at grade level.  We’d like to create a levelled library so students can become independent readers.  This is branching out of my YA range so– what do you think?  Do you know of any MUST HAVE books for all age levels?  Any ideas for high interest books for my high school students that can’t read at all, or are at a 3rd grade or lower level?

Secondly I am going to be attending the NCTE conference in Chicago in a month!  I’m so excited.  Several YA authors, John Green, Laurie Halse Anderson, and Chris Crutcher to name a few are going to be there and I’m hoping I can make it to their sessions.  Anyone else going?  I’ve never been to a conference before (other than the Key Club Conference I went to 10 years ago) and am not sure what to expect.  Advice?

Thirdly, I am using The Battle of Jericho by Sharon Draper as a read aloud book in my class right now.  We are using it to examine fitting in, bullying/hazing, and relationships.  The majority of my class gets visibly excited when I read it.  It really is making me feel good.  We should be able to finish the book by Thanksgiving, so I need to come up with another book to read that deals with mental health/social-emotional themes.  Suggestions?

That’s all.  I hope my absence hasn’t been too horrible.

One Response

  1. Wow, sounds like a big job — but a fun one! You should look into Orca Book Publishers for their hi-lo series (Orca Soundings and Orca Currents).

Leave a Reply

