Mockingjay- Suzanne Collins



Shop Indie Bookstores

Review:

The final installment of The Hunger Games trilogy did a great job of tying ending the saga.  I felt like most of my questions were answers, though some new ones were brought to light.  I think leaving some things unanswered allows for healthy debate among readers.  With all that being said this was my least favorite of the books.  I can’t put my finger on why, but it is what it is.

Overall this is the best YA series I’ve read and I recommend it to anyone who will listen!  What was your overall impression?

 

The Lowdown: (from Scholastic.com)

Interest Level: 6-8  (As with Catching Fire I think this is a little off- I’d say more 7-10)
Grade Level: 5.4

Teaching Resources:

Book talk and Discussion Guide available from Scholastic.com

AWARDS:

#1 USA TODAY BESTSELLER

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING SERIES

#1 WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER

#1 PUBLISHERS WEEKLY BESTSELLING SERIES

NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE CHILDREN’S BOOK OF 2010

PUBLISHERS WEEKLY’S BEST BOOKS OF 2010:
CHILDREN’S FICTION

A BOOKLIST EDITORS’ CHOICE, 2010

A KIRKUS BEST BOOK OF 2010

NPR BEST BOOKS OF 2010

A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS’ CHOICE

A CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR’S BEST CHILDREN’S BOOKS OF 2010

BARNES & NOBLE BEST TEEN BOOKS OF 2010

AMAZON BEST BOOKS OF 2010:
#3 ON CUSTOMER FAVORITES LIST

4 Responses

  1. My disappointment was the way the relationship with Peeta & Katniss was tied up – they just drifted back together after a few years!

  2. I think it certainly is a strong young adult series with many positive attributes, but I personally don’t think it’d make my Top 10 series list (if I had such a list).

    I think the book’s mass-market appeal to both teenage boys and girls is to be lauded in addition to the strong female characters, but there was way too much drama re: will Katniss and Peeta get together or won’t they?

    But that’s just my opinion. 🙂

  3. I actually enjoyed the Mockingjay much like you did and agree that it was the “weakest” of the trilogy. For me I felt that Katniss was being led around – or not being in control of the events – unlike her roles in the prior titles. This may have been deliberate in order to make that final decision she made all the more powerful to the reader – but who knows 🙂

  4. I think that the end book was a slight dissapointment to the series and was the weakest. the character change dramatically in this book compared to the first two and i start to see Katniss slipping from that controlled strong character she was origionally. Although i love the drama it brings and think its a fabulous love triangle story.

Leave a Reply

