Excited Again


I am feeling excited again about work.  My forced transfer, as I may have alluded to earlier was not what I wanted.  However, I have been teamed up with some awesome people and am back in the swing of things planning lessons!  I will be working with a reading group on the young adult book Nothing But The Truth (which has won numerous awards) and helping the team do a major unit on Hamlet. As our students are not only emotionally disturbed, but cognitively delayed, we will be using an adapted version of Hamlet but I’m still super excited.  Just because they won’t be reading the original Shakespeare doesn’t mean they won’t be getting into the themes and plot.  We will even be able to use the themes of Hamlet as part of our therapeutic interventions.

If you have any great ideas or resources for these titles let me know!  My students are 14-17, and range from having almost no reading ability to about a 7th grade reading level for some of the older students.

Leave a Reply

