Book Banning


I hate book banning.  I hate when school boards and the general public decide that award winning books are “inappropriate” for our students.  I think they are naive to think that these books are going to serve no positive purpose and will hurt our students in any way.  I just saw an article about a district in Missouri that is banning Sherman Alexie’s novel True Diary of a Part Time Indian.  I have not read this book in its entirety but I do know about its contents and I do know it is a well respected book in the YA community that deals with real issues.  Here’s a link to the article— http://www.news-leader.com/article/20100909/NEWS04/9090375/-1/rss

What’s your take on book banning?!

2 Responses

  1. I agree! There are some books that aren’t appropriate for some readers, but nearly all books have merit. I teach 8th grade English and I work very hard to teach the kids to find books that are appropriate, meaningful, and engaging for them, while still respecting the choices of their families.

    I shared your post with my kids today as an example of a great blog about books. Thanks!!

  2. Thanks for the comment. I do the same with books for students that I have. I don’t think there is a teacher or librarian out there that would suggest or knowingly make available a book that they thought would be a bad influence on a student.

Leave a Reply

