Buying Books


I have an addiction to buying books!  I can’t stop myself despite the fact that I don’t have a lot of extra cash, nor extra space!  That being said Half Price Books has a 20% off SALE this weekend!!!  I decided to go and look for a copy of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s Tender is the Night which I am supposed to read this month for a book club I joined with my coworkers.  Needless to say I did not walk out with just that one book.

But, it’s NOT MY FAULT!  As I approach the store I see on a cart outside a sign that says “CLEARANCE- YOUNG ADULT FICTION”  I mean come on!  Was I supposed to ignore this!?  Upon closer inspection I realize all of these books are a dollar, and if we take 20% off of that they’re only 80 CENTS!  (I’m not a big math person but I can figure out sales like nobodies business!)  I actually only recognized one title on the shelf, and I already owned it.  But I didn’t let that stop me from exploring new titles.   So I walked away with—

1.  The Shakespeare Stealer by Gary Blackwood (A young man is sent to steal Hamlet from Shakespeare- anything involving Shakespeare has to be good, right?

2.  The Last Days by Scott Westerfield (I just recognized the author so I picked it up- of course now I see its a sequel so I’ll have to seek out the first one Peeps)

3.  Rock Star Superstar– by Blake Nelson (This is about a young bass player who joins a new band- I chose it for its potential male appeal and its a hardback!)

4. Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul (I could have gotten the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th versions as well but resisted- and this was in the normal clearance section- not the YA Fiction obviously!)

I also picked up 3 science related books published by Discovery because my co-teachers and I are on the look out for interesting and fun ways to teach science because it is not any of our specialties!

Find any great deals on books lately?

One Response

  1. Scott Westerfield is one of my YA guilty pleasures. Peeps is very cleverly written, you’ll probably like them!

Leave a Reply

