New Moon- Stephenie Meyer


I read New Moon a couple of months ago and never got around to reviewing it… so here it goes.

I had high expectations for the second novel in the Twilight saga and I was disappointed. I was much less intrigued by the characters at this point and was frustrated with them throughout.  I found myself not siding with either Edward or Jacob.  I did not like the fact that Bella spent so much time upset over a guy.  I get that this is meant to be a very intense relationship- but I prefer strong female protagonists.

Watching the movie I felt the same way.

I have this book on my shelf for my students to read.  One of my girls has eagerly gobbled up the entire series after I lent her the first three books.  In fact I ended up having to let her read Eclipse before I did! (Review of that coming soon!)  I do not think that I would ever use this book in a whole class setting though.  I’m glad I read it though, because it was necessary to understand everything that happens in Eclipse.

Leave a Reply

