Twilight- Stephenie Meyer


I realize I am a bit behind on reviewing Twilight, but I would feel like a failed YA blogger if I never got around to it.  So here it is, my take, on the now infamous Twilight.

I was prepared to not like it.  I resisted reading it for months.  I’m not a vampire person.  BUT OMG, I ended up totally engrossed.  I went to work slightly late a few days because I’d wake up and read another chapter or two instead of getting out of bed.  As a woman in her mid-twenties, I found myself swept back to all of my high school crushes and remembered how intense my feelings were, though I was the poster girl for unrequited love.  Reading how deep Edward and Bella’s emotions were for each other made me want to feel that.  In fact, I’m quite sure that if I don’t find an extremely good looking, old, vampire to fall in love with I will never be satisfied in any relationship.

I realize that perhaps this is not the most scholarly book ever written or most intellectually stimulating.  I don’t care.  It is a fun and interesting read.  It is not filled with inappropriate language or situations, and like the Harry Potter books did a few years ago is getting kids to read again!  There are many high quality high level words used throughout the book.  It is not enough to raise it’s overall reading level to that of seniors in high school, but I think that is good.  By interweaving some SAT/ACT level vocabulary words in to otherwise easily read text, it remains accessible to all readers, but still exposes readers to new and challenging vocabulary.

I wouldn’t use it in my classroom as a class novel, but I have no problem recommending it to students.  I would not recommend it to anyone not in middle school however, especially as I’ve heard the later novels do become a bit more sexual in nature.  I have mostly seen female students reading the books, but I did also have a male student reading them as well, so I could see some male students finding it interesting as well.

I have New Moon waiting for me, and I can’t wait to read it.  (Though I’ll admit, I cheated and saw the movie already.)  Stay tuned for a review of a book designed to encourage teens to look closely at the vocabulary in Twilight and to use it to prepare for college entrance exams such as the ACT and SAT.

One Response

  1. LOL, it’s amazing how this book pulls you in, isn’t it? Of course it’s not the most scholarly book ever written, but it certainly is engrossing. I’m so glad you liked it.

Leave a Reply

