Jellicoe Road- Melina Marchetta



Shop Indie Bookstores

This Printz winner took me a while to get into. I’d say I was a third, to half of the way into it before I really became intrigued, but then I didn’t put it down.  There are numerous interesting characters whom I loved, but at the same time had some difficulty keeping everything straight.  There is mystery involved in the story- and I reached the end I felt like I needed to go back and re-read because I had to have missed some things along the way.  The main character, Taylor, is finishing up her Junior year and attends a boarding school in rural Australia.  There are two mentions of sexual activity within the book but they are not overly explicit.  There is a bit of violence at times in the novel as well.  I think this book could be used potentially in a classroom.  I would recommend it to teen girls and boys as there are strong characters from each gender.   I think this book is appropriate for high school students.

 

Awards:

ALA Best Book for Young Adults
Michael L. Printz Award
Kirkus Reviews Best Young Adult Book 

 
 
5 Responses

  1. I’m so glad you ended up liking this one! It’s one of my faves. 🙂

  2. This one is on my wishlist, I know a few teachers who plan to use it in the classroom so I will definitely be picking it up soon! 🙂

  3. […] Meg Cabot  25. The Chocolate War- Robert Cormier  26. Dead is the New Black- Marlene Perez 27. Jellicoe Road- Melina Marchetta 28. Tears of A Tiger- Sharon Draper 29. The House on Mango Street-Sandra […]

  4. I’ve been having difficulty getting into this one as well, with the result that it’s been sitting around for weeks with next to no progress. I’ll have to give it another try…

  5. […] Meg Cabot 25. The Chocolate War- Robert Cormier 26. Dead is the New Black- Marlene Perez 27. Jellicoe Road- Melina Marchetta 28. Tears of A Tiger- Sharon Draper 29. The House on Mango Street-Sandra Cisneros […]

Leave a Reply

