Poll #5: Who is your favorite YA author?


Obviously I could not list every YA author, but I am interested to know who your favorite is.  If he or she is not listed PLEASE let me know who they are- I’m always looking for new and different authors to explore.

Edit: I just realized it’s hard to read some of the names, so here is the list of authors in order in case you can’t tell.  

Laurie Halse Anderson 
John Green
Robert Cormier
Sharon Draper 
Walter Dean Myers 
Meg Cabot
Chris Crutcher
Other 

8 Responses

  1. I would have to say Laurie Halse Anderson is my favorite for Speak alone, but it helps that she has some other great ones as well. Chris Crutcher, Sarah Dessen, Lois Lowry, and Katherine Paterson are also up there.

  2. I haven’t read anything by Sarah Dessen but I’ve seen her name come up a lot, I’ll have to check her out.

  3. Of that list, it’s John Green, but I just read Fanboy and Goth Girl, so my current fave is Barry Lyga!

  4. Laurie Halse Anderson writes like a cutter; you read as you bleed. I have never seen anyone who nails the natural confusion/depression/despair of the YA moment like she does. AND her writing is just crazy good. AND she’s super nice, so you can’t even hate her for it. *LOVE HER*

    Gayle Forman, If I Stay, she’s my other fave. They are total opposites but Gayle cuts with plot like LHA does with the interior monologue.

  5. None of those are my favorite. Coe Booth!

    • Never read them, I’m going to have to check that out.

  6. I love Laurie Halse Anderson, and I’ve recently discovered Jacqueline Woodson. I’ve read three of her books so far- Feathers, If You Come Softly, and Behind You. I love her writing. Each of those books in based on a poem. Margaret Peterson Haddix is another favorite of mine and my 8th graders.

    • Oh Running Out of Time (I think that’s the title) by Haddix was one of my favorite books in Middle School. I own it. I like her.

Leave a Reply

