Wintergirls- Laurie Halse Anderson (ARC)


I just finished reading my Advance Reader Copy of Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson.  I LOVED it.  I read it straight through in about three hours.  It centers on an 18 year old high school senior, Lia’s struggle with anorexia, self-injury, and grief.  I found the story to show a very clear picture of the struggles that teens suffering from these afflictions.  It is obvious that Anderson did her research.  It is easy to identify with all of the characters in the novel.  Along with the major issues addressed, Anderson touches on familial relationships and the nature of teen friendships.  Though this is a realistic fiction there are parts that seem more fantastical in nature- but I feel are open to interpretation.  (I know that’s vague, I don’t want to spoil anything!)

 

I HIGHLY recommend this book.  It can be used in a high school classroom, or recommended as an option for independent reading.  The book is set to hit the shelves March 18th.

Teachers and Librarians can find a discussion guide here to use with their classes or book groups.

Anderson also provides links to information about eating disorders on the Wintergirls website.

9 Responses

  1. I really wish I’d managed to snag an ARC of this one — I can’t wait to pick it up on Thursday. Anderson is easily my favorite YA writer; Speak is so phenomenal, and I haven’t been disappointed by her others either.

  2. Hey, that’s funny that you read this so fast. I seriously don’t know if it was just my mood when I read it, but I found I had to put it down a lot (even though I then felt continually compelled to pick it back up) — all the depression is hard for me to read! I had this problem with Anderson’s Twisted, too, which I love, so I think it is just me.

    • I also had to put this book down a lot as it was hard to read but everytime i put it down 10 minutes or so later i had to pick it back up and read some more. i can normally read a book strait through for the whole thing but this was a difficult and touching subject it was based on.

  3. Thanks for the review and not spoiling it…I still haven’t read it (I know, what is wrong with me?!) but really want to. I’ve heard that she did a lot of research, too, and that the topic really resonated b/c she got a lot of letters from girls who read Speak and struggled with eating disorders. So it was more than just writing a novel–it was also something really meaningful. Anyway, I can’t wait to read this, and I plan to check back when I have read it.

  4. I’m glad that i didn’t spoil it. That is exactly why I try not to summarize too much, I don’t like reading books where I feel like I know too much about what is going to happen. And I don’t want to spoil things for anyone! Thanks for checking out my blog.

  5. […] Cuba 15- Nancy Osa 8. Bullyville- Francine Prose 9. Tangerine- Edward Bloor 10. Wintergirls- Laurie Halse Anderson 11. How Ya Like Me Now- Brendan Halpin 12. Beauty Shop for Rent- Laura Bowers […]

  6. […] John Green 5.  Cuba 15- Nancy Osa 6. Bullyville- Francine Prose 7. Tangerine- Edward Bloor 8. Wintergirls- Laurie Halse Anderson 9. How Ya Like Me Now- Brendan Halpin 10. Beauty Shop for Rent- Laura […]

  7. Great review! I loved that the magical elements were open to interpretation, too. 🙂

  8. […] Chinua Achebe 7. Cuba 15- Nancy Osa 8. Bullyville- Francine Prose 9. Tangerine- Edward Bloor 10. Wintergirls- Laurie Halse Anderson 11. How Ya Like Me Now- Brendan Halpin 12. Beauty Shop for Rent- Laura […]

Leave a Reply

