An Abundance of Katherines- John Green


An Abundance of Katherines is a creative and humourous story that centers on a 17 year old boy and his history of dating girls named Katherine.  A child prodigy, Colin tries to use his brain smarts to create a formula for predicting the outcome of a relationship.  While there is a bit of math-speak in this novel, one does not need to love math or understand it in order to enjoy the story.  (I should know- math is NOT my strongest subject.)  Along with dealing with teenage love this story also touches on life goals, friendship- between guys nonetheless, and a little bit with religions.  I really enjoyed reading this book, and think that high school boys and girls would both be able to identify with it.  I especially enjoyed the random facts that are sprinkled throughout the novel.  I would recommend this as a book for individual reading.  I don’t think it would be out of place in a classroom setting- but I also think there are other novels that are better suited for whole class reads.

AWARDS:

2007 Printz Honor Book

A Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist

An ALA Best Book for Young Adults

A Booklist Editors’ Choice

A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year

A Horn Book Fanfare Best Book of the Year

4 Responses

  1. Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

  2. Yeah, it’s hard for me to imagine reading this out loud — the footnotes alone would be a challenge — but I do think it would be great to have in a classroom.

  3. […] Sports- James Patterson 4. Maximum Ride: The Final Warning- James Patterson (see above link) 5. An Abundance of Katherines- John Green 6. Things Fall Apart- Chinua Achebe 7. Cuba 15- Nancy Osa 8. Bullyville- Francine Prose 9. […]

  4. […] so I jumped at the opportunity!  I’m so glad I did.  I’ve read other books by Green, An Abundance of Katherines  and Looking for Alaska and enjoyed both so I wasn’t surprised that I liked Paper Towns as […]

Leave a Reply

