Looking For Alaska- John Green


I really enjoyed this novel.  It takes place at a boarding school, and while it centers around a male protagonist there is also a strong female character.  I can see it being somewhat controversial due to some sex, drinking, and smoking.  I feel that the way the sexual elements are presented could lead to healthy conversations about sexuality and intimacy. This book also deals with grief, friendship, and fitting in.   John Green is relatively new to the field, and I think this novel is a great addition to the genre. I would use this in a whole class setting, but might warn parents/ask permission due to some of the controversial content.

Awards:

2006 Printz award winner

Finalist- 2005 Los Angeles Times Book Prize

ALA 2005 Top 10 Best Book for Young Adults

ALA 2005 Teens’ Top 10 Award

ALA 2005 Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers

A New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age

A Booklist Editor’s Choice Pick

Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Selection

Borders Original Voices Selection

YALSA Librarians’ Choice: 100 Super Summer Reads for Teens

One Response

  1. […]  I’m so glad I did.  I’ve read other books by Green, An Abundance of Katherines  and Looking for Alaska and enjoyed both so I wasn’t surprised that I liked Paper Towns as well.  I really enjoyed […]

Leave a Reply

